Innis & Gunn’s Seasonal Spring/Summer Beer

Standard

Maybe it’s my Scottish background, or maybe it’s simply the smoothly crafted beer, but my appreciation for Innis & Gunn is one of few consistency’s in my life. I suppose it helps that their seasonal brews captivate my attention while pleasing my taste buds beyond ordinary delight. Their original Scottish beer, containing hints of toffee, vanilla and oak sets the bar for their entire collection of brews! It’s an appropriate choice for any time of year; a refreshing beverage on a summer’s eve, or a cozy pint by the fire, during the long winter days.

Over this past winter, their variety four-pack, which was new (to me) was completely fulfilling. Accompanied with one of the sturdiest bottle openers I’ve ever owned, the pack held: their original beer, rum finish, toasted oak IPA and, my favourite, the bourbon stout! Couldn’t have been more pleased with the interesting and distinctly different flavours of each bottle.

Today’s beer-run presented me with the opportunity to try two new flavours of Innis & Gunn. Both with green, Spring-inspired labels (based on my last post, it’s safe to say, green is the colour of Spring) I was able to buy their Irish Whiskey Finish (stout), and Rare Oak Pale Ale. The image below captures the new beer, and also shows how legit their bottle opener is – I’d feel safe sleeping with it under my pillow after a horror movie, it packs some weight!

11072799_10152605935151370_2022663105_n

Both of these smooth, and slightly sweet beers are getting me even more excited to embrace Spring! It might be the beer talking, but I love this Innis & Gunn company! They’re really doing beer right.

The Irish Whiskey Finnish is a 7.4% stout “matured over American oak heartwood that has been infused with Irish Whiskey… a rich, complex beer with a velvety smooth finish and notes of dark chocolate, coffee and treacle.” I couldn’t have said it better, the chocolate doesn’t resistant heavily with my palate, but the charming notes of coffee are perfection.

The 5.8% Rare Oak Pale Ale “has been matured over rare Scottish oak then finished with the addition of Sweet Gale, which grows wild in the Highlands of Scotland and was used traditionally as an alternative to imported hops. Crisp, fragrant and light” – How’s that for an interesting history tidbit? I’d have paid way more attention in class if “hops” was our discussion topic!

Both beers are a gracious reminder that summer is coming, Spring is here and, beer is great. So, cheers to that!

I HIGHLY recommend these choices. Although, they’re on the sweeter side beer, it’s always good to try new things! And, while we might not all have the ability travel across the pond anytime soon, we can all drink Scottish.

Posted with love,

Ady

Leave a Reply

